skip to Main Content

Reviews of our Art Classes

Reviews of our Art Classes

Fitzroy Painting has been running studio-based art classes since 2009. We are proud of our classes, our teachers and the courses we offer. We are especially proud of the students who put their trust in us and leave with a sense of achievement. Here are some of their testimonies:

Bridget
September 2017:

I really enjoyed my art classes, there was a lot of personal instruction given which made it worthwhile and reassuring. The class was relaxed and spacious. The food was delicious and ample. The wine was also wonderful. Thankyou for everything, I had a great 4 weeks.

Leighton
September 2017:

This painting course is perfect for anyone interested in starting oil painting or rekindling a previous interest in the arts. I had the pleasure of working with both Kez and Adriane over the 4 week course and they were both so welcoming and informative about where to begin with oil painting. It can seem daunting at first but with the atmosphere of their amazing studio and the expertise behind them, this is a wonderful place to start out. I look forward to carrying on with the second course when the time permits. A+++ Highly recommended!

Jessica
July 2017:

As someone who has never been artistic, I was amazed at how much could be achieved in a few lessons. Our tecacher, Kez, was excellent at guiding us and was also really lovely. The set-up was nice, and being a small class I never felt like I didn’t have help Having some wine and cheese to go along with the class also didn’t hurt! 🙂

Antoinetta
July 2017:

I learnt about mixing colours, creating colours and about tone and shade. I also learnt about how to draw the shapes before painting, about backgrounds, shadows and bringing life to the painted objects. The class size of approximately 10 was great so it was wonderful to get to meet people from different walks of life and share our ‘painting’ experiences each week. The class instructor, Kez, was fun and so helpful in giving us clear instructions and the assistance we needed to continue weekly tasks. It was never a bother ( especially with those of us who were less able!!) wine and cheese provided was fabulous too!! Many thanks!!

Bernadette
July 2017:

Awesome class – learnt so much in such a short time and really did more than I had expected I could do given I hadn’t ever painted before. Totally fun atmosphere with genuine people. Highly recommended. Teachers at Fitzroy Painting are brilliant!

David
July 2017:

Perfect introduction and foundation for learning the art of oil painting. Very relaxed and friendly atmosphere with small class sizes. The instructors are very knowledgeable and experienced and able to answer all of our beginner’s questions. The first week focused on the basics of materials (brushes, mediums, solvents) and colour theory (primary, secondary, tertiary) and how to mix pigments (colour wheel, tint, shade). Weeks 2, 3, and 4, focused an applying these skills to practice and working on painting still life depictions of 3D shapes (cubes, spheres, cups, bottles), with a particular emphasis on shadows and gradients to create depth. I highly recommend this course for anyone looking for an entry-level course into Oil Painting.

Lisa
July 2017:

Class was terrific, everything that I was hoping for and more. Have booked in for Beginners 2 course. Highly recommend.

Christina
June 2017
Great class. Kez made you feel relaxed and proud of your progress. Every single person significantly improved by the final class, thanks to Kez. Would highly recommend this class to beginners. The cheese and wine were great too!

Hannah
June 2017
I had a great time in this class. Kez was a wonderful encouraging teacher. We learnt the basics of oil painting such as how to mix paints to create the colour we need and how to use tone to convey light, shade and shape. The studio has a lovely relaxed atmosphere, particularly with the wine and cheese at hand. 😉

Danella
May 2017
Lots of technique and information given, highly productive classes, individual support available throughout, nice little wine and cheese added to ambience. A lot covered and achieved in 4 weeks. A good place for starting to work with oils and still life.

Rosa
May 2017
The basics of oil painting in a structured way, with a lovely ambiance.

Louise
April 2017
Loved it again. Last year I did level 1 and this year level 2. No previous painting experience. Learnt new styles and techniques in level 2. Pushed me out of my comfort zone but felt supported. Really appreciate the teachers belief in all of us. We might all have different styles but we can all do it.

Peter
April 2017
Had an excellent 4 weeks with Kez Beginners stage 2. Really enjoyed the classes and Kez’s teaching. She is really hands on, attentive and pushes you without making it uncomfortable. Looking forward to continuing on and learning more from Kez. Would highly recommend the class, whether you just want 4 weeks of something fun and different or your really keen to make painting a life long hobby.

Rebecca
March 2017:
Excellent. Learnt many skills in a very short time. Very relaxed atmosphere.

Peter
March 2017:
Really enjoyed the first 4 week beginners class in Oil Painting, with both John and Kez teaching at different times. Stepped us through some real fundamentals, shading, tonal painting, color wheel, shadows and more, and inspired me to book into the next level for beginners.

Alicia
March 2017:
A great introduction to the basics of painting such as colour, tint and shade. Learning to blend and paint real life pictures. It also included an introduction to composition and how to interpret shapes and shadow from the eye to the canvas.

Ross 
February 2017:
I learned so much from this class – basic colour theory, composition, seeing light, how to use oil paint (more to it than I thought!), and even how to clean up easily! Adriane and Kez were patient but prepared to challenge you. Thanks! I will be back for the next level!

Lauren
November 2016:
I really enjoyed this 4 week class. The instructors were skilled and friendly, and I learned a lot about how to paint. It’s given me the confidence to continue painting at home. My friends and family now think I’m a pro! The cheese and wine are a nice addition too. I’d recommend purchasing the kit, it took the stress out of getting the right materials.

Kaushi
October 2016:
The class was awesome!

Read more reviews

Back To Top